Quote of the Day

img_9149“It’s a beautiful day to save lives”

— Derek Sheperd

This week I started my second rotation at work. I will be covering the municipal bond market for the next three months. This is the beat that I wanted to cover, but, boy, it’ll be a challenging one. But each day I’m going to wake up ready to do my best, learn all I can and take in the necessary feedback from my editors. Journalism is a craft and because I’m in the beginning stages of my career I know I have a lot of experience to still gain.

This week, I fittingly received a  “Grey’s Anatomy” themed mug in the mail. I’m currently obsessed with this Shonda Rhimes show that follows new surgeons throughout their career, tracing their professional and personal failures and successes. It’s the perfect show for an entry level professional to watch because like journalism, surgery is also a craft that must be mastered.

Each surgery is another chance to prove yourself. For me, each story is another chance to grow.

So drawing on some inspiration from neurosurgeon Derek Sheperd from “Grey’s Anatomy” I must say, “It’s a beautiful day to save lives.”

It’s time to get to work. It’s time to do the impossible. I’m ready to save a life.

Leave a Reply

