Quote of the Day

“The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.”

— John Pierpont Morgan

img_8412
Admired journalist Gwen Ifill passed away today after a battle with cancer. Her sudden death shocked many, and it resonated among scores of journalists on Twitter when the news first came out. The world lost an idol. I’ve been think about what it must be like to be admired by millions for your integrity, wits and overall journalism amazing-ness. I think a large part of it comes from how fearless she was as an African American woman in an industry largely dominated by white men. She had to be fearless. She had to go with her intuition on stories and she had to speak up for herself.

I’m going to use her story as my inspiration as I forge my way in the industry that she  made more feasible for people like me. Thank you, Ms. Ifill.

Leave a Reply

